

# **BRIEFING NOTE**

# SUBJECT: Reaching Home: Canada's Homelessness Strategy

## Launched April 1, 2019

### What is it?

- Replaces the Homelessness Partnering Strategy
- Delivers direct funding to municipalities and local service providers
- Will be expanded to 4-6 new designated communities through an open and transparent process with final selection expected by fall 2019

### **Key Changes**

- Housing First investment targets have been removed
- Outcomes-based approach aimed at keeping decision making at the local level and giving communities greater flexibility to address local priorities and achieve results for the most vulnerable
- Designated Communities must have a **coordinated access system** in place by March 31, 2022.
- Use of HIFIS will be mandatory in all Designated Communities where an equivalent system is not already being used

### What is a coordinated access system?

People experiencing homelessness or at-risk of homelessness will be directed to communitylevel access points where trained workers use a common assessment tool to evaluate depth of need, prioritize them for housing support services and help match them to available housing interventions

### What are the key shifts?

- Shift from delivering services to clients services providers know to clients the community has prioritized
- Use of a common information management tool that provides real-time, person-specific information and allows for the triaging of clients in need based on the community's priority populations and acuity assessments
- Shift from a collection of service providers making individual decisions toward an integrated systems approach



Taken from: <u>https://www.canada.ca/en/employment-social-</u> <u>development/programs/homelessness/directives.html#h2.3-h3.4</u>

#### APPENDIX A

#### What are the current Designated Communities?

https://www.canada.ca/en/employment-social-development/programs/homelessness/designated.html

Yukon: Whitehorse

NWT: Yellowknife

BC: Kamloops. Kelowna, Nanaimo, Nelson, Prince George, Vancouver, Victoria

AB: Calgary, Edmonton, Grand Prairie, Lethbridge, Medicine Hat, Red Deer, Wood Buffalo

SK: Prince Albert, Regina, Saskatoon

MB: Brandon, Thompson, Winnipeg

**ON:** Belleville, Brantford, Dufferin County, Durham, Guelph-Wellington, Halton, Hamilton, Kingston, London, St. Catharines/Niagara/Thorold, Nippising/North Bay, Ottawa, Peel, Peterborough, Sault St. Marie, Barrie (Simcoe), Sudbury, Thunder Bay, Toronto, Waterloo, Windsor, York

QC: Drummondville, Gatineau, Montreal-Centre, Quebec City, Saguenay, Sherbrooke, Trois Rivieres

ND: Bathurst, Fredericton, Moncton, Saint John

**NS:** Cape Breton, Halifax

NFLD: St. John's

PEI: Charlottetown & Summerside