Imagine Canada, the umbrella organization for the charitable sector, announces the addition of 12 newly-accredited charities and nonprofits to its ever-growing national Standards Program. During a time of unprecedented disruption to how community organizations continue to provide services, by achieving this certification these organizations are committed to demonstrating the highest levels of governance, accountability and transparency.

Organizations that have recently earned the Standards Program’s prestigious “Symbol of Trust” include: BridgePoint Center for Eating Disorders, Centre for Suicide Prevention, CNIB Foundation, Edmonton Screen Industries Office, Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region, Hippy Halton Home-Based Program, Muscular Dystrophy Canada, Niagara Health Foundation, Search & Rescue Society of BC, United Way of Prince Edward Island (the first organization in the province to receive the accreditation), Vancouver Pride Society, and YMCA-YWCA of Winnipeg. These organizations are celebrated alongside the 10 organizations that have reaffirmed their commitment to excellence through the rigorous re-accreditation process. The Standards Program now boasts a remarkable 259 organizations, and this expansion represents an increase in geographic diversity, with accredited organizations now in all 10 of Canada’s provinces. 

“Imagine Canada’s accreditation process is stringent: there are 72 standards, and organizations must demonstrate compliance to each. To complete this process during such a challenging year is commendable,” says Bruce MacDonald, president and CEO of Imagine Canada. “These organizations are committed to building their capacity to serve the diverse needs of communities across Canada. To the accredited organizations: welcome, and well done.”

As the pandemic continues to test good governance and leadership, as evidenced in the recent study Sector Monitor: COVID-19 and the Charitable Sectorcharities and nonprofits play a vital role in responding to the COVID-19 crisis. It is imperative that charities can identify and mitigate organizational risk while fostering a strong workforce of staff and volunteers, which is what the Standards Program is designed for.

Imagine Canada applauds the following organizations on their commitment to organizational excellence:

Newly Accredited Organizations 
BridgePoint Center for Eating Disorders
Centre for Suicide Prevention
CNIB Foundation
Edmonton Screen Industries Office
Extend-A-Family Waterloo Region
Hippy Halton Home-Based Program
Muscular Dystrophy Canada
Niagara Health Foundation
Search & Rescue Society of BC
United Way of Prince Edward Island
Vancouver Pride Society
YMCA-YWCA of Winnipeg

Re-accredited Organizations 
Canadian Mental Health Association - BC Division
CHU Sainte-Justine Foundation
Health Partners International of Canada (HPIC)
Make a Change Canada
Oak Park Neighbourhood Centre
Southlake Regional Health Centre Foundation
The Salvation Army in Canada
The Stop Community Food Centre
West Island Community Shares
YMCA of Greater Saint John

Charities and nonprofits play a pivotal role in supporting Canadians and their communities, and recognition through Imagine Canada’s national Standards Program is a public demonstration of credibility and operational excellence. For the complete list of accredited organizations, please visit

Strong Charities, Strong Communities 
Organizations participating in the Standards program have access to a spectrum of resources at all stages of the process, such as self-assessment tools, volunteer peer advisors from accredited organizations, and online resources to strengthen practices. The peer reviewers’ assessment of policies and practices, as well as constructive feedback, contribute to elevate accountability, transparency, and sound governance practices in Canadian charities and nonprofits. 

Created “by the sector for the sector,” the Standards Program is the only national accreditation program that is designed for all Canadian charities and nonprofits. To earn the accreditation trustmark, organizations must demonstrate excellence in five fundamental areas: board governance; financial accountability and transparency; fundraising; staff management; and volunteer involvement. 

Accreditation is a sought-after hallmark of excellence within the sector for funders, donors, sponsors, and supporters alike. 

Leave a Comment